Doctor of Philosophy

Oct 2010 - Jan 2014

Whittle Laboratory, University of Cambridge, UK

Master of Technology

Aug 2007 - July 2009

Mechanical Engineering (TDCE Lab), IIT Madras

Bachelor of Technology

Aug 2003 - July 2007

Mechanical Engineering, NIT, Warangal


Associate Professor

Jan 2024 - Present

Aerospace Engineering, IIT Madras

Assistant Professor

July 2018 - Jan 2024

Aerospace Engineering, IIT Madras

Bowring Research Fellow

Oct 2015 - July 2018

St. Catharine's College, Cambridge

Senior Research Associate

June 2017 - July 2018

Cambridge University Engineering Department

Research Associate

May 2014 - June 2017

Cambridge University Engineering Department

Research Assistant

Jan 2014 - May 2014

Whittle Laboratory

Associate Engineer

July 2009 - June 2010

Airbus Engineering Centre India, Bangalore

Funding and Awards

Srimathi Marti Annapurna Gurunath Award for Excellence in Teaching (2023)
Mathematical Research Impact Centric Support (MATRICS) from SERB, India (2023)
A100 80GB GPU card generously donated by NVIDIA under Academic Grant Program (2022)
New Faculty Seed Grant from ICSR, IIT Madras (2020-2023)
Start-up Research Grant from Department of Science and Technology (DST) India (2019-2021)
Quadro P6000 GPU generously donated under NVIDIA GPU grant program (2018)
New Faculty Initiation Grant from ICSR, IIT Madras (2018-2021)
Short term consultancy projects with L&T Technology services & C-BEEV, IITM Research Park
25 MAU computational time on UK ARCHER supercomputer through RAP call
Total of ~ 40 MAU computational time on UK ARCHER supercomputer through UK Turbulence Consortium.
Bowring Research Fellowship awarded by St. Catharine’s college, Cambridge to pursue independent research
Finalist: Royal academy of Engineering research fellowship, Osborne Reynolds Research award, lectureship at Oxford
• 2013 International Gas Turbine Institute (IGTI) Turbomachinery committee best paper award presented by ASME
Yates-Unilever Scholarship from Robinson College, University of Cambridge
Dorothy Hodgkin Postgraduate Award (DHPA) (£90,000) funded by EPSRC and Rolls-Royce

Awarded by IIT Madras:

S. Anantharamakrishnan Memorial Gold medal for best individual project
Prof. B. Sengupto Memorial Silver medal for best academic record in Mechanical Engineering (9.9/10)
N. Venkatarayulu Memorial Silver medal for highest CGPA in Thermal stream
Certificate of academic distinction and Silver medal for highest CGPA in first year in Mechanical Engineering

Awarded by NIT Warangal:

Institute Gold Medal for highest CGPA among all departments in Engineering (9.56/10)
Mechanical Gold Medal for best academic performance in Mechanical Engineering
3 gold medals (N. Rama Rao Memorial, Smt. Poornamma Memorial, M. Azmath Ali Umair Memorial) for best academic performance among all branches in Engineering
‘Sri Bhagavathula Raghavendra Sastry’ Scholarship, ‘Smt. Puvvada Subhadramma’ Memorial Cash Prize and Merit scholarship for the academic years 2004, 2005, 2006

Academic Service and Extracurricular Activities

Peer Reviewer: Physics of Fluids, CMAME Journal, Computers and Fluids, AIAA Journal, Journal of Turbomachinery, Flow Turbulence and Combustion, Journal of Fluids and Structures, Aeronautical Journal, Experimental thermal and fluid science, Proceedings of the Institute of Mechanical Engineers, Philosophical transactions of the Royal Society A: Theme issue, Proceedings of ASME turbo expo.
Conference Organizer:: Co-chair ASME GT India 2019, Co-organizer of Fluid mechanics, Energy, Turbomachinery Expo (FETE) Conference, 2012 (worked with a team of 7 members to organize the conference at Duxford Imperial War Museum)
Memberships:: AIAA (Senior Member), American Physical Society (APS), ASME, Aeronautical Society of India (AeSI)
Mentoring: Lead Team COMPSQUARE during GPU Hackathons (2019,2020) generously sponsored by CDAC, OpenACC, NVIDIA and IISER Pune; Faculty advisor for Aerospace Engineering Association (AEA), IIT Madras